Major Lazer

Launched in 2008, Major Lazer is an American electronic music band composed of record producer Diplo, Jillionaire, and Walshy Fire. It was founded by Diplo alongside his fellow “Paper Planes” producer Switch. Its music spans numerous genres, mixing reggae with dancehall, reggaeton, house, and moombahton. Major Lazer is Diplo’s outlet for his lifelong love of Jamaican dancehall music.

Major Lazer’s latest album, Peace is the Mission, was released in June 2015. Lead single “Lean On,” featuring DJ Snake and Mø, took the world by storm, becoming the most successful independently released song of all time after peaking at #1 on the Top 40 chart.

In July 2016, “Cold Water” featuring vocals from MØ and Justin Bieber was released. It quickly climbed to number 2 on the Billboard Hot 100 and number 1 in several other countries including on the UK Official Charts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *